Kori and Amanda Learn

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Amanda Cooks, Kori Eats May 12, 2010

Filed under: Brilliant things,Cooking — Amanda @ 9:36 AM
Tags: ,

This is the first installment of a series we like to call “Amanda Cooks, Kori Eats.”  The topic is pretty self-explanatory.

Root Beer Float Cake

Recently, I came across this recipe on a blog I enjoy, Joy the Baker.  Two things prompted the cooking of this cake: 1) Kori and I both share a love of root beer floats, and 2) next week is the beginning of Cake Month (aka Cake-tatorship) in the office.  

I followed the recipe pretty much to the T, but with one twist: I edited the recipe to make it completely vegan.  Yes, VEGAN.  And it’s scrumptious!  

Click here for the original Root Beer Float Cake recipe.  

I substituted 1/2 cup of vegan yogurt for the eggs and soy margarine for butter.  I also had to use 70% cocoa for the frosting, instead of 60%, so I think it turned out a tad more bitter than it should be, but it’s still quite tasty!

 

One Response to “Amanda Cooks, Kori Eats”

  1. Kori Learns Says:

    Kori Learns’ Review:

    Delicious. It was adequately hydrated and had a lovely, surprising root-beer like after taste.

    Amanda Learns was concerned that perhaps the cocoa in the frosting was too bitter, but personally I enjoyed the contrast of the frosting with the sweetness of the cake.

    Overall I found it a very enjoyable experience.

    I await my next dining opportunity as well as my funfetti week of the Cake-tatorship.

    Best regards,
    KL


Leave a Reply

